pan y rosas release radiant drift by rachel devorah!

Rachel Devorah is a sonic artist and feminist technologist based in Boston. Her work seeks to reveal and reframe habits of autoecholocation (locating/situating one’s self with/in sound/space).

Pregnant in the winter of 2019 with the fetus who would become her daughter, Rachel made hydrophone recordings from her cervix periodically between viability and birth. radiant drift accounts for the relative motion of her daughter and Rachel in spacialized audio as they individuated in gestation. The literal hydrophone recordings are set in counterpoint against a poetic rendering in analog electronics.

Get the album here.

pan y rosas release home by orlando!

Orlando is a musician from Campina Grande, a country town in the state of Paraíba, Brazil. He has been involved with activities related to popular music since 1995 when he began his career as an upright bassist.

Home is a sonic bricolage that Orlando recorded between January and March 2020. He used fragments from his daily life, melodic texts, domestic sounds, and an upright bass to create improvised layers sewn into noisy textures. Orlando suggests you listen to this piece through headphones.

Get the album here!

pan y rosas artists on bandcamp!

In case you ever want to send them some financial love.

?alos https://alos.bandcamp.com/ and https://ovomusic.bandcamp.com/
23redants https://kaczynskieditions.bandcamp.com/
Edith Alonso – https://tt-edithalonso.bandcamp.com/
Clara de Asis – https://claradeasis.bandcamp.com/
Bella – https://bellacomsom.bandcamp.com/
Ilia Belorukov – https://iliabelorukov.bandcamp.com/
Diego Caicedo – https://morb0records.bandcamp.com/
Tatiana Castro Mejia – https://tatianacastromejia.bandcamp.com/
Chemiefaserwerk – https://chemiefaserwerk.bandcamp.com/
Cinchel – https://cinchel.bandcamp.com/
Gustavo Obligado – https://gustavoobligado.bandcamp.com/
Francois Couture – https://cefrancoiscouture.bandcamp.com/
Tom Djll – https://djll.bandcamp.com/
Alex Elgier – https://alexelgier.bandcamp.com/
Florconvenas – https://florconvenas.bandcamp.com/
Dave Gabriel – https://davegabriel.bandcamp.com/
Iris Garrelfs – https://irisgarrelfs.bandcamp.com/
Jelena Glazova – https://jelenaglazova.bandcamp.com/
Lyn Goeringer – https://jelenaglazova.bandcamp.com/
Lauren Sarah Hayes – https://laurensarahhayes.bandcamp.com/
Rosalind Hall – https://rosalindhall.bandcamp.com/
Lucy Cheesman – https://pickleddiscs.bandcamp.com/
Ed Herrmann – https://edherrmann.bandcamp.com/
Reid Karris – https://reidkarris.bandcamp.com/
Keshco – https://keshco.bandcamp.com/
Muyassar Kurdi – https://muyassarkurdi.bandcamp.com/
Last King Of Poland – https://lastkingofpoland.bandcamp.com/
Cecilia Lopez – https://cecilialopez.bandcamp.com/
Ryan T Dunn – https://instinctcontrol.bandcamp.com/
Marta Smilga – https://martasmilga.bandcamp.com/
Mira Martin-Gray – https://tendencyitis.bandcamp.com/
Wilhelm Matthies – https://wilhelmmatthies.bandcamp.com/ and https://darkpebble-bluewave.bandcamp.com/album/october-grounds-1-8
John Collins McCormick – https://johncollinsmccormick.bandcamp.com/
Beth McDonald – https://bethtuba.bandcamp.com/
Luis Ianes – https://luisianes.bandcamp.com/
Pat Moonchy – https://patmoonchy.bandcamp.com/
Ken Moore – https://mooremyers.bandcamp.com/
Nhung Nguyen https://nhungnguyen.bandcamp.com/ and https://soundawakener.bandcamp.com/
Isabel Nogueira – https://isabelnogueira.bandcamp.com/
Lorenzo Gomez Oviedo – https://adaptador.bandcamp.com/
Agnes Pe – https://agnespe.bandcamp.com/
Pablo Piacente – https://pablojavierpiacente.bandcamp.com/
Plastic Crimewave – https://pcwsyndicate.bandcamp.com/
Marina Poleukhina and Alexander Chernyshokov – https://o-i-o.bandcamp.com/
Cecilia Quinteros – https://ceciliaquinteros.bandcamp.com/
Sarah Rasines – https://sarahrasines.bandcamp.com/
Ada Rave – https://adarave.bandcamp.com/
Martin Rach – https://martinrach.bandcamp.com/
C. Reider – https://c-reider.bandcamp.com/
Eliana Rosales – https://elianarosales.bandcamp.com/
Kirill Shirokov – https://kirillshirokov.bandcamp.com/
Sabrina Siegel – https://sabrinasiegel.bandcamp.com/
Chris Silver T. – https://nosproject.bandcamp.com/
Asha Tamirisa – https://ashatamirisa.bandcamp.com/
tay_ploops – https://tayploops.bandcamp.com/
David McNamee – http://bluetapes.bandcamp.com/
Piaka Roela – https://piaka-roela.bandcamp.com/
LIbertad Figueroa – https://libertad-figueroa.bandcamp.com/
Winded – https://windedmusic.bandcamp.com/
Anna Xambo – https://carpal-tunnel.bandcamp.com/
Zheimeer – https://zheimeer.bandcamp.com/
Zle Oko – https://zleoko23.bandcamp.com/
Arvo Zylo – https://nopartofit.bandcamp.com/

pan y rosas release ALGIZ by Zorya and Brice Catherin!

Zorya is a duo of two women, Maria Sappho and Katie Oswell. As artists, activists, researchers, and makers of sounds, the duo looks to incorporate the real aspects of our existence with magic and the surreal. Zorya bring elements of ritual, the Divine Feminine and intuition to creative works that range from sonic, sculptural, and the absurd. Taking inspiration from folklore, astrology, and marginalised histories, the duo works to create new forms of metanarrative that reflect the real global enmeshment of human, nature, ecology and time. Passing comment and reflecting societal fractures, Zorya portends to a world with deeper connection to its nature, its uncanny, its unbelievable, and its feminine glory.

Brice Catherin is a multi-instrumental cellist, improviser, composer and art performer who organizes multidisciplinary shows and improvised concerts. Most of his recent projects explore the idea of democracy in art: the artists’ individual responsibilities and their place in the social group, as well as those of the members of the audience, are challenged and questioned.

Katie Oswell and Maria Sappho came to Huddersfield to premiere their Mushroom Opera at the monthly Noisebringers improvisation series. The day after, on December 17, 2019, they met with Brice Catherin to record some sounds. On ALGIZ they sing, play zither, gong, celeste, piano, flutes, a christmas tree, organ, and tubular bells.

Get the album here!

pan y rosas release de acá a cien años by mentolados durruti

Mentolados Durruti is an improvising trio from Buenos Aires.

Luis Conde, Luis Ianes and Carlos Vega improvised and recorded their album on March 3 of 2019. An attempt to recover narratives found in the archaeology of other music and other discussions. There is no fusion. There is an epic. Clarinets, saxophone, guitars, bass.

Get the album here.

pan y rosas release caracoles de una ciudad enterrada by fulmedesh!

Fulmedesh is a hemisphere-crossing collaboration partnership. Surrealist refractions. Impressionist observations. Environmental collapse. Fragments.

Their first album, Caracoles de una ciudad enterrada, is an assemblage of keyboards, electronics, guitar, field recorings, drums, flute, and poems. Additionally it is jointly released by pan y rosas discos and Amor Loco Discos.

Get the album here.

Or here.

pan y rosas release up by memorymusic!

Memorymusic is the moniker of Brooklyn-based keyboardist, producer, and composer Leo Galbraith-Paul. His sound centers recollection and imagining to create meditative, self-reflective listening experiences.

Memorymusic’s first album for pan y rosas is: Keyboards, electronics, drums. Ambient jazz wash. A seed that grows upward. Strands of potential. Beauty and ugliness. Longing and craving. Threads of memory.

Get the album here!

library experimental – december 2019

Library Experimental is an ongoing series focusing on Chicago’s experimental musicians. It is happening at the Chicago Public Library in Jefferson Park on Saturday, December 21 from 2-4pm.

Early! Free! Kid friendly! If the kids are patient!

The first show after a long hiatus features William Riley Leitch; and Our Lisbon Office (Tricia Park, Mark Booth, Nathanael Jones).

Jefferson Park library is located at 5363 W Lawrence. Convenient to both bus and blue line. https://www.chipublib.org/locations/38/

William Riley Leitch is a Chicago area trombonist. Riley has performed at the Nief Norf Festival, soundSCAPE Festival, and the Lucerne Festival Academy where he studied with members of Ensemble Intercontemporain and Ensemble Modern. Riley has premiered over 20 new works for solo trombone, chamber ensemble, and orchestra at events and venues such as Ear Taxi Festival and Red Note New Music Festival.

***

Our Lisbon Office is an improvisational ensemble comprised of Tricia Park (violin), Mark Booth (electronics), and Nathanael Jones (electronics/keyboard). For Library Experimental at the Jefferson Park Library the trio will perform improvisations initiated by a selection of abstract prose instructions.

***

pan y rosas release outwardly by bleak house!

Bleak House produce crumbly, autumnal library music; flickering guitars, stumbling piano, mournful horns, and pattering percussion. Formed in 2001 by British musicians (Luke Sample, Andy Brain, Caroline Vile) also involved in Keshco, the Bleak House palette is distinctly sepia-tinged.

Outwardly was recorded in snatched moments between 2017 and 2019 in London and Oxford, built up from layers of improvisation, and mixed using Jeskola Buzz and Goldwave.

Get the album here!