Jefferson Park EXP with Christi Denton and maoϴ – September 13, 2pm

In lieu of free live shows at the neighborhood library, we’re doing free live shows via twitch! The next show is on Sunday September 13 at 2pm (CST/UTC-05), join us!

https://www.twitch.tv/jeffersonparkexp

Christi Denton is a composer and sound installation artist who works with found sounds, electronics, and homemade and modified instruments. She enjoys breaking things, multi-channel speaker configurations, and building instruments where other things control sound; for example, where the audience can influence the composition with their phones or their drinks, or where light, weather, or a microorganism modifies musical parameters.

http://www.christidenton.com
https://christidenton.bandcamp.com

Working with spoken, prerecorded and generated language, maoϴ investigates the abstraction of touch as an arbiter of meaning through the use of languages he may not speak. maoϴ performances involve the use of language processed using a self-built palate controller: an oral retainer-based device which allows control data to be produced based on the touch of the tongue against the roof of the mouth, notably during speech production. maoϴ is a project of media and performance artist Ryan ⊥ Dunn.

http://tritriangle.net

Jefferson Park EXP with Hali Palombo and Ben Zucker – August 23rd, 2pm

In lieu of free live shows at the neighborhood library, we’re doing free live shows via twitch! The next show is on Sunday August 23 at 2pm (CST/UTC-05), join us!

https://www.twitch.tv/jeffersonparkexp

Hali Palombo is a composer and visual artist working in Chicago, IL. Crafting most of her music from a large library of CB and amateur radio recordings, Hali’s compositions also include morse code, wax cylinder samples and field recordings she has taken at various Midwestern points of interest.

http://www.halipalombo.com/
http://www.halipalombo.bandcamp.com/

Ben Zucker engages in acts of creative juxtaposition and speculation as a composer, audiovisual artist, and multi-instrumentalist. He has contributed to experimental music scenes across North American and the UK with concert works, albums, scores for media, and frequent performances on brass, percussion, voice, and electronics. For his work, he has been acclaimed as a “master of improvisation” (IMPOSE Magazine), and “more than a little bit remarkable” (Free Jazz Blog), and recognized as a New Composer Talent by the International Audio Branding Academy. He currently lives in Chicago, studying, teaching, and organizing as a doctoral student at Northwestern University.

https://www.benzuckersounds.com/
https://zvibes.bandcamp.com/

Jefferson Park EXP with SIFI + uuskhy and cinchel – August 9, 2pm

In lieu of free live shows at the neighborhood library, we’re doing free live shows via twitch! The next show is on Sunday August 9 at 2pm (CST/UTC-05), join us!

https://www.twitch.tv/jeffersonparkexp

Cinchel is a Chicago based musician working with guitar, effects and laptop to create abstract ambient music that is both minimal and dense. His main focus has been the interaction of sounds/notes with themselves. With only the use of delay, layering and distortion he attempts to make a lot of guitars no longer sound like guitars. For that reason, he likes to call this – minimal dense music.

https://cinchel.bandcamp.com/

SIFI + uuskhy: You often hear about the coldness of software, the icy sterility of digital artifacts; despite the ones and zeros, the jagged edges of the pixelated render, there is a digital campfire crackling within the code and beckoning you to endless warmth. Here you will find two beings improvising with controllers, interfaces, and antique video hardware — existing equally as human and avatar — listening, reacting, and generating sparks of ///Digital Warmth///

You can find our more about SIFI here:

Saranaomigoodman.squarespace.com
@saranaomigoodman
@sci_fi_mascara

And about uuskhy here:

@uuskhy
uuskhy.bandcamp.com
soundcloud.com/uuskhy

pan y rosas release intervisibility by nicolas tourney

Nicolas Tourney is a French experimental musician, sound designer, and owner of the label Snow in Water Records. His electronic works concern perception and act of listening, with the use of various strings, drones and noise-making devices.

On Intervisibility, Nicolas turns his musical research towards something more bare – the loneliness of the sound. Influenced by different forms (Japanese Gagaku, Tibetan ritual, Confucian music, Korean shamanism) the music offers an opening within listening, a work based on reception and non-action.

Get the album here!

pan y rosas release dual remix by ren walters and david tolley

Ren Walters is completing his phd at Melbourne University and facilitates the improvisation materials and free play classes at the Victorian College of the Arts, Melbourne University. David Tolley was an integral member of Melbourne’s music community until his death in 2014.

Edited versions and blends of performances at a dance club and a home between 1997 and 1999. Hard disk recorder, a microphone, text, magazines, and scissors. An acoustic bass, an acoustic guitar, an electronic guitar. Projected images. Performances of performances. Folding over on itself.

Get the album here.

pan y rosas release anedition by ishmael ali, judith berkson, josh davidoff, and ben zucker!

Ishmael Ali is a cellist, guitarist, composer, and improviser based out of Chicago and New York. Judith Berkson is a soprano, pianist and composer living in Brooklyn, New York. Josh Davidoff is a Brooklyn-based composer and arts administrator. Ben Zucker is a performer-composer and multi-instrumentalist improviser, currently based in Chicago.

The four musicians came together in October of 2019 to document an edition of a cross coastal electroacoustic collaboration. Emissions. Ozone. Artifice. Tactful, inopportune nothing. Built with cello, synths, voice, clarinet, trumpet, electronics.

Get the album here!

pan y rosas release radiant drift by rachel devorah!

Rachel Devorah is a sonic artist and feminist technologist based in Boston. Her work seeks to reveal and reframe habits of autoecholocation (locating/situating one’s self with/in sound/space).

Pregnant in the winter of 2019 with the fetus who would become her daughter, Rachel made hydrophone recordings from her cervix periodically between viability and birth. radiant drift accounts for the relative motion of her daughter and Rachel in spacialized audio as they individuated in gestation. The literal hydrophone recordings are set in counterpoint against a poetic rendering in analog electronics.

Get the album here.

pan y rosas release home by orlando!

Orlando is a musician from Campina Grande, a country town in the state of Paraíba, Brazil. He has been involved with activities related to popular music since 1995 when he began his career as an upright bassist.

Home is a sonic bricolage that Orlando recorded between January and March 2020. He used fragments from his daily life, melodic texts, domestic sounds, and an upright bass to create improvised layers sewn into noisy textures. Orlando suggests you listen to this piece through headphones.

Get the album here!

pan y rosas artists on bandcamp!

In case you ever want to send them some financial love.

?alos https://alos.bandcamp.com/ and https://ovomusic.bandcamp.com/
23redants https://kaczynskieditions.bandcamp.com/
Edith Alonso – https://tt-edithalonso.bandcamp.com/
Clara de Asis – https://claradeasis.bandcamp.com/
Daniel Barbiero – https://danielbarbiero.bandcamp.com/
Bella – https://bellacomsom.bandcamp.com/
Ilia Belorukov – https://iliabelorukov.bandcamp.com/
Diego Caicedo – https://morb0records.bandcamp.com/
Tatiana Castro Mejia – https://tatianacastromejia.bandcamp.com/
Brice Catherin – https://bricecatherin.bandcamp.com/
Chemiefaserwerk – https://chemiefaserwerk.bandcamp.com/
Cinchel – https://cinchel.bandcamp.com/
CP – https://cavepebbles.bandcamp.com/
Gustavo Obligado – https://gustavoobligado.bandcamp.com/
Francois Couture – https://cefrancoiscouture.bandcamp.com/
Tom Djll – https://djll.bandcamp.com/
Alex Elgier – https://alexelgier.bandcamp.com/
Florconvenas – https://florconvenas.bandcamp.com/
Dave Gabriel – https://davegabriel.bandcamp.com/
Iris Garrelfs – https://irisgarrelfs.bandcamp.com/
Getdizzzy – https://octopusinc.bandcamp.com/
Jelena Glazova – https://jelenaglazova.bandcamp.com/
Lyn Goeringer – https://jelenaglazova.bandcamp.com/
Lauren Sarah Hayes – https://laurensarahhayes.bandcamp.com/
Rosalind Hall – https://rosalindhall.bandcamp.com/
Lucy Cheesman – https://pickleddiscs.bandcamp.com/
Ed Herrmann – https://edherrmann.bandcamp.com/
Reid Karris – https://reidkarris.bandcamp.com/
Keshco – https://keshco.bandcamp.com/
Muyassar Kurdi – https://muyassarkurdi.bandcamp.com/
Last King Of Poland – https://lastkingofpoland.bandcamp.com/
Cecilia Lopez – https://cecilialopez.bandcamp.com/
Ryan T Dunn – https://instinctcontrol.bandcamp.com/
Marta Smilga – https://martasmilga.bandcamp.com/
Mira Martin-Gray – https://tendencyitis.bandcamp.com/
Wilhelm Matthies – https://wilhelmmatthies.bandcamp.com/ and https://darkpebble-bluewave.bandcamp.com/album/october-grounds-1-8
John Collins McCormick – https://johncollinsmccormick.bandcamp.com/
Beth McDonald – https://bethtuba.bandcamp.com/
Luis Ianes – https://luisianes.bandcamp.com/
Pat Moonchy – https://patmoonchy.bandcamp.com/
Ken Moore – https://mooremyers.bandcamp.com/
Nhung Nguyen https://nhungnguyen.bandcamp.com/ and https://soundawakener.bandcamp.com/
Isabel Nogueira – https://isabelnogueira.bandcamp.com/
Lorenzo Gomez Oviedo – https://adaptador.bandcamp.com/
Agnes Pe – https://agnespe.bandcamp.com/
Pablo Piacente – https://pablojavierpiacente.bandcamp.com/
Plastic Crimewave – https://pcwsyndicate.bandcamp.com/
Marina Poleukhina and Alexander Chernyshokov – https://o-i-o.bandcamp.com/
Po Poy – https://popoy.bandcamp.com/releases
Cecilia Quinteros – https://ceciliaquinteros.bandcamp.com/
Sarah Rasines – https://sarahrasines.bandcamp.com/
Ada Rave – https://adarave.bandcamp.com/
Martin Rach – https://martinrach.bandcamp.com/
C. Reider – https://c-reider.bandcamp.com/
Eliana Rosales – https://elianarosales.bandcamp.com/
Kirill Shirokov – https://kirillshirokov.bandcamp.com/
Sabrina Siegel – https://sabrinasiegel.bandcamp.com/
Chris Silver T. – https://nosproject.bandcamp.com/
Asha Tamirisa – https://ashatamirisa.bandcamp.com/
tay_ploops – https://tayploops.bandcamp.com/
David McNamee – http://bluetapes.bandcamp.com/
Piaka Roela – https://piaka-roela.bandcamp.com/
LIbertad Figueroa – https://libertad-figueroa.bandcamp.com/
Winded – https://windedmusic.bandcamp.com/
Anna Xambo – https://carpal-tunnel.bandcamp.com/
Zheimeer – https://zheimeer.bandcamp.com/
Zle Oko – https://zleoko23.bandcamp.com/
Arvo Zylo – https://nopartofit.bandcamp.com/

pan y rosas release ALGIZ by Zorya and Brice Catherin!

Zorya is a duo of two women, Maria Sappho and Katie Oswell. As artists, activists, researchers, and makers of sounds, the duo looks to incorporate the real aspects of our existence with magic and the surreal. Zorya bring elements of ritual, the Divine Feminine and intuition to creative works that range from sonic, sculptural, and the absurd. Taking inspiration from folklore, astrology, and marginalised histories, the duo works to create new forms of metanarrative that reflect the real global enmeshment of human, nature, ecology and time. Passing comment and reflecting societal fractures, Zorya portends to a world with deeper connection to its nature, its uncanny, its unbelievable, and its feminine glory.

Brice Catherin is a multi-instrumental cellist, improviser, composer and art performer who organizes multidisciplinary shows and improvised concerts. Most of his recent projects explore the idea of democracy in art: the artists’ individual responsibilities and their place in the social group, as well as those of the members of the audience, are challenged and questioned.

Katie Oswell and Maria Sappho came to Huddersfield to premiere their Mushroom Opera at the monthly Noisebringers improvisation series. The day after, on December 17, 2019, they met with Brice Catherin to record some sounds. On ALGIZ they sing, play zither, gong, celeste, piano, flutes, a christmas tree, organ, and tubular bells.

Get the album here!