Jefferson Park EXP with Maria Sappho + Raymond MacDonald and Lauren Sarah Hayes – November 8, 2pm

In lieu of free live shows at the neighborhood library, we’re doing free live shows via twitch! The next show is on Sunday November 8 at 2pm (CST/UTC-05), join us!

https://www.twitch.tv/jeffersonparkexp

Lauren Sarah Hayes is a Scottish improviser and sound artist based in Arizona. Her music is a mix of experimental pop/live electronics/techno/noise/free improvisation and has been described as ‘voracious’ and ‘exhilarating’. She is a sculptress of sound, manipulating, remixing, and bending voice, drum machines, analogue synths and self-built software live and physically. She is excited by what can happen in the vulnerable relationships between sound, space, and audience. Her shows are highly physical, making the performance of live electronic music more engaging for audiences. The Wire described her most recent album MANIPULATION (pan y rosas discos) as “skittering melodies and clip-clopping rhythms suggesting a mischievous intelligence emerging from this web of wires”.

www.laurensarahhayes.com

@elleesiach

***

Maria Sappho is a hybrid. The present is full of plasticity so she doesn’t worry much about being anything in particular. Most often she enjoys any opportunity to explore the magically absurd. She has worked with the BBC Scottish symphony orchestra, Australian Art Orchestra and is a current member of the Glasgow Improvisers Orchestra. She is a winner of the New Piano Stars Competition, Governors Recital Prize, and the Dewar Awards. She is a current PhD Candidate at Huddersfield University, on the European Research Council project   IRiMaS She runs the Feminist Free Improvisation Archive, works for Mopomoso TV, is one head of the three headed beast the the Mass.

https://www.mariasappho.com

Raymond MacDonald: Equally comfortable working in concert halls, galleries, cinemas and non-conventional spaces, Raymond MacDonald is a cross disciplinary artist working primary in music as a saxophonist and composer. With a particular interest in collaborative creativity, MacDonald’s work is informed by his training as a psychologist. Viewing improvisation as a social and uniquely creative process, his performances explore the boundaries and ambiguities between what is conventionally seen as improvisation and composition. This approach, that combines music and psychology, has been used to develop collaborative projects and ongoing working relationships around the world. With a background in jazz and pop music, coupled with a passion for graphic scores, free improvisation and visual art, he has collaborated widely and has released over 60 CDs, toured and broadcast worldwide, and created music for film, television, theatre, radio and art installations.

https://raymondmacdonald.co.uk

Jefferson Park EXP with Empty Human Husk and Ana María Romano G. – October 11, 2pm

In lieu of free live shows at the neighborhood library, we’re doing free live shows via twitch! The next show is on Sunday October 11 at 2pm (CST/UTC-05), join us!

https://www.twitch.tv/jeffersonparkexp

Ana María Romano G. is a Colombian composer and interdisciplinary sound artist. Her creative interests center around acoustic and electroacoustic media and participation in interdisciplinary projects involving contemporary dance, videodance, performance and live arts. Her creative interests stem in the intersection of gender, sound and technology, listening, soundscape, noise, experimentation, improvisation, cyberspace, body and the political dimension of the creative. Her works have been published in physical support and by several netlabels in Latin America, Europe and North America and by the Red de Arte Sonoro Latinoamericano (Latin American Sound Art Network). Her writings have been published by different institutions in Colombia and her artistic works have been featured in festivals in Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Chile, China, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, United States and Uruguay.

Her interest in documentation led her to produce several publications such as CDs/multimedia, magazines, web platforms. She has been working on the legacy of the pioneering Colombian electroacoustic composer Jacqueline Nova since 1999 and curated the 2017 sound installation “Jacqueline Nova. El mundo maravilloso de las máquinas” (Jacqueline Nova, The Wonderful World of Machines) for the Museo de Arte Moderno (Modern Art Museum) in Medellín. She has organized numerous events throughout her career devoted to the diffusion of current creation (concerts, seminars, workshops, etc.) characterized by the presence of renowned artists. Currently, she teaches at Universidad El Bosque and is the director of Festival En Tiempo Real, event dedicated to the encounter between sound and technology with a gender focus. She has been nominated to the CLASSICAL NEXT INNOVATION AWARD 2019 (Holland), and been invited as a Keynote speaker in NIME (New Interfaces for Musical Expression) 2019 (Brazil) and she is a guest artist for the World Listening Day 2019 (Chile).

twitter
soundcloud

Jefferson Park EXP with Hali Palombo and Ben Zucker – August 23rd, 2pm

In lieu of free live shows at the neighborhood library, we’re doing free live shows via twitch! The next show is on Sunday August 23 at 2pm (CST/UTC-05), join us!

https://www.twitch.tv/jeffersonparkexp

Hali Palombo is a composer and visual artist working in Chicago, IL. Crafting most of her music from a large library of CB and amateur radio recordings, Hali’s compositions also include morse code, wax cylinder samples and field recordings she has taken at various Midwestern points of interest.

http://www.halipalombo.com/
http://www.halipalombo.bandcamp.com/

Ben Zucker engages in acts of creative juxtaposition and speculation as a composer, audiovisual artist, and multi-instrumentalist. He has contributed to experimental music scenes across North American and the UK with concert works, albums, scores for media, and frequent performances on brass, percussion, voice, and electronics. For his work, he has been acclaimed as a “master of improvisation” (IMPOSE Magazine), and “more than a little bit remarkable” (Free Jazz Blog), and recognized as a New Composer Talent by the International Audio Branding Academy. He currently lives in Chicago, studying, teaching, and organizing as a doctoral student at Northwestern University.

https://www.benzuckersounds.com/
https://zvibes.bandcamp.com/

pan y rosas artists on bandcamp!

In case you ever want to send them some financial love.

?alos https://alos.bandcamp.com/ and https://ovomusic.bandcamp.com/
23redants https://kaczynskieditions.bandcamp.com/
Edith Alonso – https://tt-edithalonso.bandcamp.com/
Clara de Asis – https://claradeasis.bandcamp.com/
Daniel Barbiero – https://danielbarbiero.bandcamp.com/
Bella – https://bellacomsom.bandcamp.com/
Ilia Belorukov – https://iliabelorukov.bandcamp.com/
Diego Caicedo – https://morb0records.bandcamp.com/
Tatiana Castro Mejia – https://tatianacastromejia.bandcamp.com/
Brice Catherin – https://bricecatherin.bandcamp.com/
Chemiefaserwerk – https://chemiefaserwerk.bandcamp.com/
Cinchel – https://cinchel.bandcamp.com/
CP – https://cavepebbles.bandcamp.com/
Gustavo Obligado – https://gustavoobligado.bandcamp.com/
Francois Couture – https://cefrancoiscouture.bandcamp.com/
Tom Djll – https://djll.bandcamp.com/
Alex Elgier – https://alexelgier.bandcamp.com/
Florconvenas – https://florconvenas.bandcamp.com/
Dave Gabriel – https://davegabriel.bandcamp.com/
Iris Garrelfs – https://irisgarrelfs.bandcamp.com/
Getdizzzy – https://octopusinc.bandcamp.com/
Jelena Glazova – https://jelenaglazova.bandcamp.com/
Lyn Goeringer – https://jelenaglazova.bandcamp.com/
Lauren Sarah Hayes – https://laurensarahhayes.bandcamp.com/
Rosalind Hall – https://rosalindhall.bandcamp.com/
Lucy Cheesman – https://pickleddiscs.bandcamp.com/
Ed Herrmann – https://edherrmann.bandcamp.com/
Reid Karris – https://reidkarris.bandcamp.com/
Keshco – https://keshco.bandcamp.com/
Muyassar Kurdi – https://muyassarkurdi.bandcamp.com/
Last King Of Poland – https://lastkingofpoland.bandcamp.com/
Cecilia Lopez – https://cecilialopez.bandcamp.com/
Ryan T Dunn – https://instinctcontrol.bandcamp.com/
Marta Smilga – https://martasmilga.bandcamp.com/
Mira Martin-Gray – https://tendencyitis.bandcamp.com/
Wilhelm Matthies – https://wilhelmmatthies.bandcamp.com/ and https://darkpebble-bluewave.bandcamp.com/album/october-grounds-1-8
John Collins McCormick – https://johncollinsmccormick.bandcamp.com/
Beth McDonald – https://bethtuba.bandcamp.com/
Luis Ianes – https://luisianes.bandcamp.com/
Pat Moonchy – https://patmoonchy.bandcamp.com/
Ken Moore – https://mooremyers.bandcamp.com/
Nhung Nguyen https://nhungnguyen.bandcamp.com/ and https://soundawakener.bandcamp.com/
Isabel Nogueira – https://isabelnogueira.bandcamp.com/
Lorenzo Gomez Oviedo – https://adaptador.bandcamp.com/
Agnes Pe – https://agnespe.bandcamp.com/
Pablo Piacente – https://pablojavierpiacente.bandcamp.com/
Plastic Crimewave – https://pcwsyndicate.bandcamp.com/
Marina Poleukhina and Alexander Chernyshokov – https://o-i-o.bandcamp.com/
Po Poy – https://popoy.bandcamp.com/releases
Cecilia Quinteros – https://ceciliaquinteros.bandcamp.com/
Sarah Rasines – https://sarahrasines.bandcamp.com/
Ada Rave – https://adarave.bandcamp.com/
Martin Rach – https://martinrach.bandcamp.com/
C. Reider – https://c-reider.bandcamp.com/
Eliana Rosales – https://elianarosales.bandcamp.com/
Kirill Shirokov – https://kirillshirokov.bandcamp.com/
Sabrina Siegel – https://sabrinasiegel.bandcamp.com/
Chris Silver T. – https://nosproject.bandcamp.com/
Asha Tamirisa – https://ashatamirisa.bandcamp.com/
tay_ploops – https://tayploops.bandcamp.com/
David McNamee – http://bluetapes.bandcamp.com/
Piaka Roela – https://piaka-roela.bandcamp.com/
LIbertad Figueroa – https://libertad-figueroa.bandcamp.com/
Winded – https://windedmusic.bandcamp.com/
Anna Xambo – https://carpal-tunnel.bandcamp.com/
Zheimeer – https://zheimeer.bandcamp.com/
Zle Oko – https://zleoko23.bandcamp.com/
Arvo Zylo – https://nopartofit.bandcamp.com/

pan y rosas release meduse by christi denton!

christi denton is a portland based composer and sound installation artist who works with found sounds, electronics, and homemade and modified instruments. she has a degree in music composition from mills college and a graduate certificate from the centre de creation musicale iannis xenakis (france).

meduse is her first album for pan y rosas discos. the sound is: beauty or monster. swelling drones. glissando. clicks. pans. crescendo swarm. cluster. chime.

get the album here!